Wise Words.

If You Have to Cry Go Outside hc c

My Friday was full of errands all morning long. But the highlight of my day was grabbing a cup of coffee with a very good friend of mine who I would like to say is kind of like my “big”. Well she is. I’m pretty sure if I never met her I would have never found out that Public Relations was for me. She’s just great and one of the best PR ladies I know. I know she’s going to make it out big in the real world 🙂

I stopped by at my local public library to pick up a book I’ve been wanting to read for awhile now, “If You Have to Cry, Go Outside” by Kelly Cutrone. For most of you who don’t know her she simply is a guru not only in Public Relations, but for the real world. I haven’t put the book down ever since I started reading it. I will give an overall review as soon as I get through the book. But I thought I could share a quote with you guys that I actually picked up on as I was reading.

“It’s ultimately about the journey and the characters who accompany you on it, not the destination.” – (14, Cutrone)

I gave a lot of thinking to this quote and I couldn’t have agreed with it any other way. As I mentioned my friend before, if I never had a chance to meet her or get the amazing advice she gave me, I probably would have never known that everything I ever wanted to do was called “Public Relations”. Networking is an important thing not just in the PR industry, but in general any industry. Having connections and networks is highly important and it should never be a one-way street. As Kelly Cutrone mentions about “tribal relationships”, it’s a two-way street. She says that as you enter your own tribe you will soon become a part of another tribe as well as having an elder. My elder is my friend. I told her as soon as I saw her today that everything I was reading just made so much sense since I went through it all with her.

I definitely recommend reading this book even if you have a different career path because you will get some wise words and it will truly give you a lot of motivation. I just ordered my own copy! So yes, that’s how great this book is.

Hope you all have an amazing weekend! Xo

5 thoughts on “Wise Words.

Leave a Reply

