A Gloomy Sunday Morning…

v1

Sundays are my usual “tidy-up-my-room” day. I went through a few of my high school boxes and found my fashion notes. I thought I can share a post on how I got into fashion, myself.

As a young girl I used to wear stockings, poofy dresses, heels, and anything you can expect on a doll thanks to my mom dressing me up. I would always have these nice things that I would get complimented on yet I wouldn’t like them myself. As I got older I realized, specifically when my mom bought me my first gaucho pants, that she knew what the style and trend was better than me. I told her that I wouldn’t wear them just because I had never seen anyone wearing them before. Then I noticed a few weeks went by and everyone had them. On her time off, I always saw her sitting at her sewing machine which amazed me because there was so much going on at the same time to sew a piece.  So yes, you can say I got my fashion interest through my mom.

When I entered high school I took Multimedia, which was the basics of an IT class. We learned how to use photoshop, edit pictures, and so on. One day, my teacher came out to me and told me how she taught fashion in our school. It was mind-boggling because I never knew there was such an option in my high school and just the thought of it made my high school cooler! It didn’t hit me at the time that I would even be able to take it, but when I met up with my guidance counselor who asked me what elective I wanted to take, there I saw it, Fashion I. I knew right away that that’s what I wanted to do.

Stay tuned for more confessions coming up! Xo

“I’m not trying to do something different, I’m trying to do the same thing but in a different way.” -VIvienne Westwood, Fashion Icon

Leave a Reply

